5 Not So Awesome Baby Shower Gifts

not so awesome baby shower gifts

So, I just got home from my cousin’s baby shower a few hours ago. We are so excited for her to bring her little boy into the world. Anyway, whenever I was looking at her baby registry for a gift to take to the shower, I realized just how much crap there is that we all got suckered into registering for as first time moms only to find that two years later, it’s still sitting in storage unopened.

To help avoid this with future generations, here is my list of 5 not so awesome baby shower gifts to buy:

1. Diaper Pail

I actually got one with my first son because a friend said, “OMG! I LOVE LOVE LOVE my diaper pail! You HAVE to get one!” I quickly found out that it is just an extra trash can in the house that seems to get forgotten. We used it for one week and started using our regular trash can instead. I’m no longer friends with that person in case you were wondering. I have a strict “don’t recommend crappy stuff” policy and she definitely violated it.

Check out the COMPLETE POST here at the NEW livinginmomarchy.com!

16 thoughts on “5 Not So Awesome Baby Shower Gifts

  1. Pingback: Unique Baby Shower Gift Ideas |

  2. I think each item depends on the type of life you have and the type of child you have.

    I agree that the diaper pail is a waste UNLESS you have Houdini dogs. My diaper pail is the only thing that keeps my pooches out of the poop. I empty it at the end of the day.

    I use my shopping cart cover all winter, especially at costco where they store the shopping carts outside — my daughter wouldn’t sit on the cold metal, and I don’t blame her one bit. When its -20C (-4F) the metal is COLD! In the spring, summer and early autumn the cover is useless. My opinion of them would be much the same as yours if I lived someplace warm.

    We also use the changing table a lot — why? Dogs. They like to see what is going on, so changing her on the floor would have involved dogs surrounding the baby thinking something akin to “oh boy! They’re down at our level! Lets cuddle and play!” They never would hurt her, but getting your face licked while you’re scraping poop off a tiny backside is disturbing.

    As for the other two things wipe warmers are odd, I never received one and I wasn’t spending the money. And I also received a LOT of receiving blankets. I used two exclusively — they were hand made and LARGE so they actually were useful as sun covers and make-shift changing pads on-the-go. I now make each new mom two or three LARGE receiving blankets. The ones we received at the shower? We donated them to the dog rescue to line crates.

    BTW: Awesome blog. Going to follow!

    Like

    • Thank you for your input!! 🙂 I totally agree, that it definitely DOES depend on each mother and child. These are simply my personal experiences and opinions.

      …and you are right about weather having an impact on the shopping cart covers, as I DO live somewhere where it is mostly warm, so I can surely see a need for them if you’re living somewhere where it gets pretty chilly like you are. Again, it’s just my personal opinions based on my experiences and life.

      Definitely if I’d of gotten a handmade receiving blanket, I probably wouldn’t hold the hatred that I do for them. I’m mostly talking about the packs of like 8 blankets that you buy at Wal-Mart or similar stores. I’m a sucker for handmade items, so it’s very nice that you make them now for new moms! 🙂

      Thank you so much for reading and for sharing your experiences! 🙂

      Like

    • Haha…wow…I don’t think I’ve seen one of those! I’ll have to look for myself to see how ridiculous it is next time I’m at the store! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Unique Baby Shower Gift Ideas - Living In Momarchy

  4. Well, I must say that you can escape the baby registry if you want. Choosing something from the list that you personally used is a good idea. Why? Because you know how useful it is and you have proven it yourself.

    Like

    • Definitely!! I NEVER buy something on someone’s registry that I haven’t used myself!! I’m a big fan of plain ‘ole diapers, wipes, and shampoo. The diapers I got with my first son lasted about six months and it was awesome not having to buy during that time! So I like to return that favor to new moms! Thanks for reading!! 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts

